## SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW LONDON

## SCHOOL DISTRICT LEGAL STATUS

The legal basis for public education in the school district is vested in the will of the people as expressed in the Wisconsin Constitution. Public education is primarily a state responsibility and a local school district's function.

The official name of this school district is the "School District of New London". It is classified as a unified school district and includes the City of New London--Waupaca and Outagamie Counties, and all or parts of the Town of Bear Creek, Town of Caledonia, Town of Fremont, Town of Lebanon, Town of Mukwa, Town of Clayton, Town of Winchester, Town of Wolf River, Town of Dale, Town of Deer Creek, Town of Greenville, Town of Hortonia, Town of Liberty, and Town of Maple Creek.

Educational services of the school district shall be organized as a program of instruction for Four-Year-Old Kindergarten through grade twelve (12). The district shall be operated as a single system under the direction of the District Administrator.

The district contains four (4) elementary schools, one (1) intermediate/middle school, one (1) high school, and two (2) charter schools. The Board shall authorize the District Administrator to establish other special classrooms or programs as necessary.

ADOPTION DATE:	March 13, 2017
REVISION DATE(S):	
REVIEW DATE(S):	September 19, 2022
CROSS-REFERENCE:	
LEGAL REFERENCE:	Wisconsin Constitution, Article X, Section 3; Wisconsin Statutes Section 115.01(3) (5), Section 118.40, Section 120.41